Granny Wheel Square Blanket Finished!

Granny-W-S-Folded1-Crochet-Missy

After putting in some serious hours, I have finally finished the Granny Wheel Square Blanket I was working on.

Ta-da!

Granny-Wheel-Finished-Crochet-Missy

To give you an idea of its actual size, here is a photo of it on the couch.

Granny-W-S-Couch-Crochet-Missy

The edges curl up slightly and are not uniform. I wanted the falls to land at the end of each square and to do that I had to make a couple of the fans stretch across an extra hole.

Granny-W-S-Edge-Crochet-Missy

So now that I have finished my very first crochet blanket, I now realise how much work these are! Oh my goodness, I really had no idea.

Because of all the hours I was putting into this blanket, I really haven’t worked on much else and I am a little burnt out at the moment. However, crochet is here to stay for me. It seems that it is the only creative bone I have in my body and now that I have found it, it is here to stay.

The blanket is 8 x 13 squares, which is 104 in total. It took me roughly an hour per square, if you include edging in white and joining. That is a lot of hours, but well worth it because I am very happy with the result.

I even used it to sleep with the other night and it was wonderful and soft and surprisingly warm (although it was used in conjunction with another blanket).

Granny-W-S-Hanging-Crochet-Missy

Even though I am not ready to start on another big blanket just yet, I am still pinning in my Pinterest account trying to come up with the next blanket I will do. Next time maybe not using the candy colours, probably all one colour or using the darker colours from Bendigo Woollen Mills.

Blanket Details

As I have stated in past posts, I found a beautiful picture of another persons version of this blanket at kungenomajkis.blogspot. There is a link there to the pattern or you may be able to do it from sight.

The yarn I used is 100% pure cotton yarn from Bendigo Woollen Mills.

I used a 3mm crochet hook.

This blanket is made of 104 squares, 8 x 13.

 

Also finished Stripey Baby Boy Blanket

18 thoughts on “Granny Wheel Square Blanket Finished!

  1. Missy, this is absolutely gorgeous, and congratulations on finishing it. I know, it feels like it takes forever, but then you see the light and the end of the tunnel and just have to keep going, haha! I love the colours you’ve used, and the border. Congratulations!

    • Thank you very very much. I must say with this blanket I am so happy that I don’t need other peoples compliments (which isn’t always the case). That said, it is greatly appreciated and nice to know someone else thinks I have OK taste 🙂 That would also explain why I like all your work!

    • Thank you!
      I like your blog as well. In fact, I am thinking that the next blanket I make will be inspired by your rippling tides blanket. I really like your choice of colour combination, simple colours which I don’t think with date.
      I have been a bit slack with my blog since finishing the blanket. This might be enough to get me posting again 🙂
      Thanks again.

  2. Pingback: Test Strips to Cleaning Cloths | Crochet Missy

  3. Well done, Missy! It looks like it was quite a job, but you must be so proud. I particularly noticed your great work on that pretty edging. I’m planning on using a similar edging effect for a shawl actually. Keep up the good work!

    • Thank you for the lovely comments. I really do like the edging and I am still happy with it, however, as you can see from the full photo of the blanket, maybe I should have done a bigger edge for such a large blanket.
      I will keep an eye out for your shawl edging.

      • You’re welcome! And thanks for keeping an eye out, but I don’t think I’ll get to my shawl for quite some time. I have so much on my to-do list already, but I’m sure you know that feeling 😉

  4. Pingback: 1 year Blogversary! | Crochet Missy

Leave a Reply

